Jump to content


Photo

Server Move


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Dethdeath

Dethdeath

    Newbie

  • Administrators
  • 1,439 posts

Posted 25 February 2015 - 10:09 AM

Hey everyone,

As you may have noticed, we're currently in the process of moving to a new server.
The new server is located in Europe instead of the US, so that will affect some of your pings positively and some negatively, but that can't be avoided.

The Renegade servers have already been moved to the new server, so that means the info you use to connect has changed:
For our Mission Co-Op server the new IP:Port is 85.214.212.79:4852.
and for the Turbo-Technologies DM server the new IP:Port is 85.214.212.79:8787.

What you can still expect in the next few days:
- AssaultCube servers move
- TS3 server move
- IRC server move

So keep an eye out for these address changes and you should not run into too much trouble, but be sure to let us know if you need help.

That's all for now :)


Posted Image

#2 andyman

andyman

    Hey, not too rough!

  • Renegade Moderators
  • 58 posts
  • Location:
    uk

Posted 25 February 2015 - 03:15 PM

ok mate ty for leting me know :)



#3 Cunin

Cunin

    :U

  • Administrators
  • 2,610 posts
  • Steam:
    Cunin
  • Location:
    Italy

Posted 27 February 2015 - 09:00 PM

AssaultCube has been moved.

TS3 and IRC to be moved later tonight (from a GMT point of view).



#4 Cunin

Cunin

    :U

  • Administrators
  • 2,610 posts
  • Steam:
    Cunin
  • Location:
    Italy

Posted 27 February 2015 - 11:22 PM

Everything is now moved and running from the new server box.

 

Please report any problems here.



#5 Zorid

Zorid

    No bot stands a chance

  • Senior Moderators
  • 199 posts
  • Location:
    UK

Posted 28 February 2015 - 01:55 PM

:) everything seems to be running fine, only one thing i have seen though is the sfps is low most the time anyone got any ideas to solve this i think deth knows about this and is trying to fix it somehow but anyone else got any ideas for this? 

 

sfps has been as low as 28 i think this is the lowest ive seen it so far.

 

Thanks Zorid.



#6 Cunin

Cunin

    :U

  • Administrators
  • 2,610 posts
  • Steam:
    Cunin
  • Location:
    Italy

Posted 28 February 2015 - 05:30 PM

Please note that while moving stuff and settings things up, all that can (and probably did) cause lag/bad performance, because of us running stuff and downloading things during the work.

 

Anyway, yesterday, during the move, I've changed a few things to try and make it better. Please disregard any bad things happening yesterday in the server (even at night) and only consider how it behaves starting from today's morning. A lot of work has been done through all the past week too, so maybe some of the worst SFPS experience happened because of that.

 

Let us know if it now runs better than during last week, or it's the same, or even worse. The server is pretty much under testing right now to see if we can make the coop server run well with the current hardware.

 

So, in short:

 

- nevermind about the performance you experienced yesterday.

- is the server, starting from today, performing better than last week's?



#7 Zorid

Zorid

    No bot stands a chance

  • Senior Moderators
  • 199 posts
  • Location:
    UK

Posted 28 February 2015 - 06:19 PM

ye no probs ill keep an eye ;)  and btw this is from today not yesterday just so you know ;)



#8 dubstar

dubstar

    Ultra violence

  • Renegade Moderators
  • 342 posts
  • Steam:
    dubXP
  • Location:
    England, UK

Posted 01 March 2015 - 12:20 AM

Does the new server have equal specs as the previous? if not then the sfps drops could be the result of too many games being run from the box :( try disabling the DM mod for a short time to see if it improves


Support Officer

#9 Cunin

Cunin

    :U

  • Administrators
  • 2,610 posts
  • Steam:
    Cunin
  • Location:
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2015 - 05:02 AM

The hardware is more or less the same but the OS is different (newer), and since the renegade server is an old and bad software, that may be causing some problems. Anyway it is running in its own core, separated from the DM and other stuff so that shouldn't hurt its performance.

We're going to try out different solutions but if nothing works, we'll try something more radical.



#10 Dethdeath

Dethdeath

    Newbie

  • Administrators
  • 1,439 posts

Posted 03 March 2015 - 03:15 PM

The SFPS issues seem to be gone now, you can blame Windows for them. The CPU wasn't getting fully utilized.


Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users